I am going to upset a lot of people right now. Whether you are a local or a tourist, there are just some restaurants in New York that you do not question. Unfortunately, the time has come to start being inquisitive. Let me preface this by saying that I have absolutely no culinary training. I don’t know a bechamel from a bearnaise and if you can make either one you’re definitely more skilled in the kitchen than I am. And all of these restaurants are delicious, but I feel that their reputations far surpass their actual products. So feel free to disagree with my humble 24-year-old self, but I do know what tastes good and if you are craving these high-end New York delicacies allow me to throw my two cents in. Here are my five most overrated restaurants in New York.

1. Del Posto, West 16th Street and 10th Avenue
I know. I’m coming out swinging. This Italian establishment…wait, Italian LEGEND…is frankly just too over-the-top. If you like your Italian food served by a waiter in white gloves while you try to squeeze rolls of your stomach into your suit jacket then sure, go ahead. Del Posto yourself. But the prices are outrageous and I have found that for fewer dollars and a whole lot more ambiance you can find a better Italian meal in New York.
Alternative: Il Bagatto, East 2nd Street between Avenue A and Avenue B

2. Nobu, Hudson and Franklin streets
Tiny portions are offset by exorbitant prices and some sort of Euro trash techno music thumping in the background. If you order a martini, what you actually get is a sugary concoction that would be best enjoyed by Sarah Jessica Parker. Oh, and it takes a month to get a reservation.
Alternative: Blue Ribbon Sushi, Sullivan and Prince streets

3. Peter Luger, Broadway and Driggs Avenue, Brooklyn
New York is home to some phenomenal steakhouses, and for some reason the public still insists on Peter Luger. Yes, the food tastes good. It is steak after all, but I’m just not sold on the presentation: Fatty slices doused in oil with a side of runny spinach and some plastic cow sticking out of the top of my steak. There are other reasons to go to Brooklyn.
Alternative: Lucas, 32nd Street and 35th Avenue, Queens

4. Lombardi’s, Spring and Mott streets
Pizza is what New York myths are made out of. It’s the foundation of our existence, or something like that. Whatever. In all seriousness, Lombardi’s may be the “oldest” slice of pizza in New York, but it’s hard to enjoy your pizza when the fanny-packed tourists are photographing every single bite.
Alternative: Fornino, North 7th Street and Bedford Avenue, Brooklyn

5. Shake Shack, Madison Square Park
Uh oh…I think I just signed my death certificate. Don’t get me wrong. Shake Shack is GOOD! (All of these restaurants are good, they wouldn’t have the reputations they have if they weren’t.) But is it the best burger in New York? I love a greasy stall burger that I need to wait over an hour for as much as the next gal, with that special sauce and obligatory lettuce and tomato. But when I really want to get down and dirty with a burger I need something with a little more meat (pun intended).
Alternative: Diner, Berry Street and Broadway, Brooklyn

