In addition to world jetsetter, cultural connoisseur, luxe lush and perhaps some other slightly less flattering descriptions, I have also been known to know a hiking trail or two in the Hudson Valley. (My father was a boy scout for something like 20 years, so I’m better versed than many on good nature spots between Westchester County and the Catskills.)

The other day my good friend asked me about possible day trips out of the city for hiking. I referred him to www.trails.com, a site that I often use when looking for a good hiking trail. It’s pretty easy to follow. You plug in your destination and the site generates a list of possible hiking trails nearby. It’s a handy little tool.

Tip: I’m a big fan of Harriman State Park near Bear Mountain.

Enjoy the weekend and happy trippin to you!

